If you speed while driving in North Carolina, you will want to drive slower in the future. That is because you can lose the right to drive if you get two tickets within one year.
It is a shock to many drivers in North Carolina how easy it is to lose driving privileges. Even those tickets you get while driving too fast when out of state count.
When you can lose your driving privileges
Not only do you put others at risk when you speed, but you could also lose your right to drive as well. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your license if:
- You have a conviction for speeding more than 15 miles over the speed limit while going over 55 mph
- You have a conviction for speeding more than 80 mph
You could also lose your right to drive if you have two speeding convictions in one year for going over 55 mph. Also, go slow if you have either a reckless driving conviction or an aggressive driving conviction. Get a speeding ticket also and the DMV could suspend your license.
Do not pay off a ticket just to avoid going to court
The officer who issues you a citation may tell you that you will not have to go to court if you pay the fine. Be aware that paying off the ticket is pleading guilty.
When driving in North Carolina, you will want to go within the speed limit. Otherwise, you could lose your right to drive for three months or more.