You may think that once you pay the fine for a charge of reckless driving you put the incident in the rearview mirror.
However, the state of North Carolina takes traffic violations seriously. That reckless driving citation has consequences that can follow you into the future.
About reckless driving
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles defines reckless driving in two ways:
– “carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others”
– “without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property”
Reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor and carries a maximum fine of $1,000. In addition, even first offenders could spend up to 30 days behind bars, or up to 60 days if there are prior convictions. Under certain circumstances, the DMV could suspend your license. Examples are driving more than 80 miles per hour or driving more than 15 miles per hour over the speed limit.
In addition to penalties, the DMV will apply four demerit points to your driving record. This could affect your ability to obtain certain kinds of employment and even make it more difficult for you to obtain the kind of housing you have in mind. The points on your record for a reckless driving conviction can cause your auto insurance payments to escalate. Your insurer may see you as a high-risk driver and either cancel your policy or issue a new one at a much higher rate.
The best way to handle a traffic citation like reckless driving is to confront it with sound legal guidance. You have future plans to protect, and you want the best outcome possible for your case.